Stephen L. Buchwald was born (1955) in Bloomington, Indiana. He received his Sc.B. degree from Brown University in 1977 where he worked with Kathlyn A. Parker and David E. Cane at Brown University as well as Professor Gilbert Stork at Columbia University. He entered Harvard University as a National Science Foundation Predoctoral Fellow in 1977 and received his Ph.D. in 1982. His thesis work, with Jeremy R. Knowles, concerned the mechanism of phosphoryl transfer reactions in chemistry and biochemistry. He then was a Myron A. Bantrell postdoctoral fellow at Caltech with Professor Robert H. Grubbs where he studied titanocene methylenes as reagents in organic synthesis and the mechanism of Ziegler-Natta polymerization. In 1984 he began as an assistant professor of chemistry MIT. He was promoted to the associate professor (1989) and to Professor (1993) and was named the Camille Dreyfus Professor in 1997. In July 2015, he became Associate Head of the Chemistry Department at MIT. During his time at MIT he has received numerous honors including the Harold Edgerton Faculty Achievement Award of MIT, an Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award, the 2000 Award in Organometallic Chemistry from the American Chemical Society and a MERIT award from the National Institutes of Health. He has also been the recipient of the Bristol-Myers Squibb Distinguished Achievement Award and the CAS Science Spotlight Award, both received in 2005 and the American Chemical Society's Award for Creative Work in Synthetic Organic Chemistry as well as the Siegfried Medal Award in Chemical Methods which Impact Process Chemistry, both received in 2006. In 2010, he received the Gustavus J. Esselen Award for Chemistry in the Public Interest. He received the 2013 Arthur C. Cope Award from the American Chemical Society. In 2014, he was the recipient of the Linus Pauling Medal Award and the Ulysses Medal (University College Dublin). In 2015, he received an honorary doctoral degree from the University of South Florida as well as receiving the BBVA Frontiers in Knowledge Award in Basic Sciences (2014 Award). In 2016, he received the William H. Nichols Award from the New York Section of the American Chemical Society and the IMPI Jun-ichiro Tanaka Distinguished Achievement Award. In 2017, he received the Nagoya Gold Medal Lecture Award, the Carothers Award from the Delaware Section of the American Chemical Society and the Allan R. Day Award, from the Philadelphia Organic Chemistry Club. In 2018 he received the Tetrahedron Prize for Creativity in Organic Chemistry, the Dr. Karl Wamser Innovation Award Award (from the Technische Universität München) and was awarded the 2019 Roger Adams Award from the American Chemical Society and the 2019 Wolf Prize in Chemistry. In 2000, he was elected as a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and in 2008 he was elected as a member of the National Academy of Science. He is the coauthor of over 510 published or accepted papers and 52 issued patents. He serves as a consultant to a number of companies and is an associate editor of Advanced Synthesis and Catalysis.